PJM Board Authorizes Latest Regional Transmission Expansion Plan Changes


The PJM Board of Managers on July 29, 2020, approved changes to the Regional Transmission Expansion Plan, or RTEP, to ensure the reliability of the power grid for the 65 million people PJM serves in 13 states and Washington, D.C.

The changes include new baseline reliability projects largely driven by planned generator deactivations and reinstatements, as well as changes to the scope and cost of existing baseline projects.

The main new baseline projects approved by the Board are:

  • In the Dominion transmission zone, install a second 500/230 kV transformer at the Chickahominy substation.
  • In the Allegheny Power Systems transmission zone, reconductor the Yukon-Smithton-Shepler Hill Junction 138 kV line, upgrade the terminal equipment at Yukon 138 kV substation, and replace the line relaying at Mitchell and Charleroi 138 kV circuit.
  • In the Duquesne transmission zone, reconductor the Duquesne portion of the Wilson-Mitchell 138 kV circuit.
  • For American Municipal Power Transmission (located within the ATSI transmission zone), establish a new 138/69 kV substation with one 138 kV circuit breaker, one 138/69 kV, 130 MVA transformer, and three 69 kV circuit breakers. The project will also include the construction of a 0.15 mile 138 kV transmission line between the Brim 138/69 kV substation and the newly proposed AMP transmission substation.

Baseline reliability transmission enhancement costs are allocated to PJM load.

Details of all approved projects are contained in the Transmission Expansion Advisory Committee recommendations to the PJM Board.

Follow all projects through the process with PJM’s Project Status & Cost Allocation tool.