Former PJM Board Chair Almgren Nominated for Lifetime Achievement Award


Ake Almgren, who retired as Board of Managers chair this year after nearly two decades of service to PJM, has been nominated for the 2021 Lifetime Achievement Award, part of the annual Platts Global Energy Awards.

Former PJM Board Chair Ake Almgren

Almgren is among eight energy leaders from around the world chosen as finalists in the category, Platts announced Sept. 23. Winners will be revealed at a celebration in New York Dec. 9.

“Being a finalist is important because the Global Energy Awards indicate the direction in which the industry is headed,” Platts said in announcing the finalists. It is foretelling, Platts said, of where industry leaders are “putting their resources, their hope, their wagers and ultimately, their money.”

Almgren joined the PJM Board of Managers in 2003, tapped for his broad expertise in distributed energy. He is one of its longest-serving members.

Over more than 40 years, Almgren has demonstrated a commitment to innovative technology, driven by his desire to design energy alternatives and take them to market. He is a longtime influential thought leader in the United States and his native Sweden, having served in many positions with worldwide scope and responsibility.

In his award nomination, Cheryl A. LaFleur, former commissioner and chair of the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission, called Almgren “highly deserving” of the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Almgren brought to his roles on the PJM Board “an exceptional understanding of both the technical and policy sides of wholesale markets and grid operations, as well as outstanding judgment and leadership ability,” LaFleur said. “He helped PJM navigate from its formative stages to its current position as the largest wholesale electricity market in the nation and one of the largest in the world.”

Platts describes the Lifetime Achievement Award as one that “cuts across all classifications and criteria in an effort to recognize a legendary figure in the world of energy.” The winner will be someone “who has made an outstanding contribution to the development and future of the energy industry as a whole in the course of his or her career.”